Diary of a Financier

Bookshelf Update: Interview with Michael Burry

In Bookshelf on Thu 21 Jul 2011 at 21:02
  • Michael Burry interviewed by Bloomberg.
  • He yields a few good quotes about results and thinking independently.

I’m raining Bookshelf Updates today. Business is busy, as they say, and I’m trying to keep track of my thoughts by dropping in on this Diary every now and then.

Last night I took the time to watch this Bloomberg interview with Michael Burry, former portfolio manager of Scion Capital. This video did little but reiterate what I’d already known about him and his investment style (from The Big Short, etc.).

I managed to extract a couple resonant quotes from him though, so I thought I’d petrifying them herein…

‘I liked a lot of things throughout my life. I liked sports and money management, because it’s not about whether or not you’re a nice guy or how neat your hair is; it’s about your results…

‘I think a lot of hedge funds, I think a lot of managers get their ideas from Wall Street. I just prefer to find my own ideas.’

–Romeo (hattip Barry Ritholtz)

Comment

