Diary of a Financier

Bookshelf Update: Top Newsstuffs (Week of November 21)

In Bookshelf on Sun 27 Nov 2011 at 23:32

A serving of newsstuff that rivals that heaping platefull from Thanksgiving dinner…

Is a Eurofix Around the Corner? | naked capitalism
Bundesbank’s Jens Wieldemann flip flops from his hawkish stance to a ‘Eurobonds cum integration’ concession. Yves Smith is right, such integration would mark an end of democracy via Eurocoup.

Of European Insurance Funds and Short-Dated EFSF Issuance | ZeroHedge

Italy Is Closer To Collapse Than Realized, And So Is The World | Bruce Krasting

Here’s What Happened To Stocks During The German Hyperinflation | Business Insider

Euro-zone economies: Latitude | The Economist

North v South Europe; should there ever have been a currency union?

The Return of ‘Madame Non’: Why Merkel Remains Opposed to Euro Bonds | Der Spiegel

“This Is The Problem”: Charting The Cash Supply-Demand Crunch In Europe | ZeroHedge

FDR, 1933 | The Big Picture

“How Do You Have So Much Time to Blog?” | The Reformed Broker

Josh Brown’s epitaph. I will return to this many times when I lose my way, because my own blogging takes a lot of time, but it’s incalculably valuable:  “I manage both assets and emotions for people.  I care to the point that it hurts.  And I make it my daily mission to know as much as I can so that I can be as effective as I can for my clients.  Blogging is not a side gig, it is the method by which I’m becoming what I want to become for myself and for those I’m responsible to.”

The Future is Gray | Bruce Krasting
Titanium Dioxide (TiO2) makes everything from pills to paper to paint to food white. It’s in everything. Chinese demand has sent prices rising 20% per year, 40% in 2011, 50% 2012E. Expect “graying.”

European Investment Bank (EIB): Black Swan Sighted | Zero Hedge
€382.4bn of senior unsecured debt and €2.5bn of deposits, backed by promises to make whole loan commitments, so if EIB can’t roll its debt on the open market, it makes a capital call on the EU-27… does not make for a AAA-rated firm.

On Capital Flight and Forced Repatriation | Bruce Krasting
EU tax authorities in Brussels are forcing Swiss banks to expropriate Greek depositors’ money, repatriating it back to risky Greek banks.

–Romeo

 
  1. […] by the European Investment Bank (EIB) to promote growth. Proposal is for a €10B increase to EIB’s capital, providing ~€15B/year in increased infrastructure spending to the whole EU, a sum exceeded by […]

Comment

